Regents’ Award for Distinguished Public Service

In June of 1990 the Regents supported a recommendation of the Senate Advisory Committee on University Affairs (SACUA) and established the “Regents’ Award for Distinguished Public Service” to honor extraordinary distinction in public service by members of the University faculty. We request nominations of faculty members deserving recognition for their contributions in this area. All members of the University Senate (assistant, associate, and full professors, research scientists, and librarians who are Senate members) are eligible for consideration.

The award of $1,000 is to recognize public service activities that relate closely to teaching and research and reflect professional and academic expertise. The service activities may occur outside the University in local, state, national or international arenas.

To assist SACUA in the selection of the award recipient please email submission to:

  • A short statement describing the nominee’s service to public service and details of any accomplishments related to that service.
  • Supporting statements (optional)
  • Names, titles, and addresses of both nominee and nominator.
  • CV (optional)

If you have any questions about the award or the nomination process, please contact the Faculty Senate Office at 764-0303. Thank you for your participation.

The deadline for submission of the Awards Nomination is May 1, 2017.

Past Regents’ Award for Distinguished Public Service Recipients

khaled-mattawa22016Khaled Mattawa, LSA Department of English Language and Literature
2015Ashley Lucas, School of Theatre, Music and Dance
2015Matthew Davis, School of Medicine & Ford School of Public Policy
kota2014Sridhar Kota, College of Engineering
MuirDana2013Dana M. Muir, Business
raxelrod2011Robert Axelrod, Public Policy and LSA-Political Science
Barbara Anderson2008Barbara Anderson, LSA-Sociology
argere2006Anne Ruggles Gere, Education and LSA-English
Bryant2005Bunyan Bryant, Natural Resources and Environment
02_10_09 Amid Ismail2004Julie Ellison, LSA-American Culture and LSA-English
Amid I. Ismail, Medicine and Dentistry
2003Billy J. Evans, LSA-Chemistry
Scott Kurashige, LSA-American Culture
2000Elizabeth Marie Petty, Medicine
1999Robert E. Megginson, LSA-Mathematics
1998Lloyd D. Johnston, Survey Research Center
1997Edward M. Gramlich, Public Policy
1996Orin G. Gelderloos, SNRE and UM-Dearborn CASL
1995William Alexander, LSA-English
1994Barry Checkoway, Social Work and Urban Planning
1993Josef M. Miller, Medicine
1992Richard Bailey, LSA-English
Sharon Sutton, Architecture
1991Beth Glover Reed, Social Work and LSA