UM Home

The Distinguished Faculty Governance Award

Faculty members who consistently place University-wide interests on the same level as personal career and departmental interests represent a scarce resource that all faculty members treasure. Their concern with the general welfare protects and nourishes our individual welfare. The kinds of corporate activity these University citizens take on give us a secure sense of collective conscience. Faculty governance is the arena in which these citizens serve, and it is faculty government through the Senate Advisory Committee on University Affairs that recognizes their accomplishments with this award.

The Distinguished Faculty Governance Award was established by SACUA in 1986 and is funded by the Alumni Association. The criterion for the award is distinguished service to faculty governance over several years with an emphasis on university-wide service.

Current SACUA members are ineligible, as are those members from the immediate past year. All members of the University Senate (assistant, associate and full professors, research scientists, and librarians who are Senate Members) are eligible.

To assist SACUA in the selection of the award recipient we request that you submit a short statement describing the nominee's service to faculty governance and details of any accomplishments related to that service. Please send nominations, supporting statements, and the names, titles, and addresses of both nominee and the nominator to by April 28, 2015..

If you have any questions about the award or the nomination process, please contact the Faculty Senate Office at 764-0303. Thank you for your participation.

The deadline for submission of the Awards Nomination is April 28, 2015

Past Award Recipients
2014 Keith Riles, LSA Physics
2013 Bruno Giordani, LSA Psychology
2012 Michael Thouless, Engineering
2011 David Potter, Classical Studies, LSA
2010 Stanley Berent, Medicine
Bruce Frier, Law & LSA
2008 Semyon Meerkov, Engineering
2007 Fred Askari, Medicine
George Brewer, Medicine
2006 William D. Ensminger, Medicine
2005 Cynthia Luz Marcelo, Medicine
2004 Louis G. D'Alecy, Medicine
William W. Schultz, Engineering
2003 Charles B. Smith, Medicine
2002 Alphonse R. Burdi, Medicine
2001 Jackie Lawson, UM-Dearborn
Ron Lomax, Engineering
2000 Thomas Dunn, Chemistry, LSA (Emeritus)
1999 Sheila Feld, Social Work
John T. Lehman, Biology, LSA
1998 Thomas E. Moore, Biology, LSA
1997 Beth Glover Reed, Social Work
1996 Theodore J. St. Antoine, Law
1995 Gayl D. Ness, Sociology, LSA
1994 Peggie J. Hollingsworth, Pharmacology
1993 Donald R. Brown, Psychology, LSA
1992 Claude A. Eggertsen, Education (Emeritus)
1991 Daniel E. Moerman, Anthropology, UM-Dearborn
1990 Wilbert J. McKeachie, Psychology, LSA
William C. Stebbins, Medicine
1989 Donald R. Deskins, Jr., Sociology, LSA
1998 Cecil Nesbitt, Mathematics, LSA
1987 Ralph A. Loomis, English, LSA
1986 Janice B. Lindberg, Nursing
Wilfred Kaplan, Mathematics, LSA