UM Home

Regents' Award for Distinguished Public Service

In June of 1990 the Regents supported a recommendation of the Senate Advisory Committee on University Affairs (SACUA) and established the "Regents' Award for Distinguished Public Service" to honor extraordinary distinction in public service by members of the University faculty. We request nominations of faculty members deserving recognition for their contributions in this area. All members of the University Senate (assistant, associate, and full professors, research scientists, and librarians who are Senate members) are eligible for consideration.

The award is to recognize public service activities that relate closely to teaching and research and reflect professional and academic expertise. The service activities may occur outside the University in local, state, national or international arenas.

To assist SACUA in the selection of the award recipient we request that you submit a short statement describing the nominee's service to faculty governance and details of any accomplishments related to that service. Please send nominations, supporting statements, and the names, titles, and addresses of both nominee and the nominator to by April 28, 2015.

If you have any questions about the award or the nomination process, please contact the Faculty Senate Office at 764-0303. Thank you for your participation.

The deadline for submission of the Awards Nomination is April 28, 2015.

Past Award Recipients
2014 Sridhar Kota, College of Engineering
2013 Dana M. Muir, Business
2011 Robert Axelrod, Public Policy and LSA-Political Science
2008 Barbara Anderson, LSA-Sociology
2006 Anne Ruggles Gere, Education and LSA-English
2005 Bunyan Bryant, Natural Resources and Environment
2004 Julie Ellison, LSA-American Culture and LSA-English
Amid I. Ismail, Medicine and Dentistry
2003 Billy J. Evans, LSA-Chemistry
Scott Kurashige, LSA-American Culture
2000 Elizabeth Marie Petty, Medicine
1999 Robert E. Megginson, LSA-Mathematics
1998 Lloyd D. Johnston, Survey Research Center
1997 Edward M. Gramlich, Public Policy
1996 Orin G. Gelderloos, SNRE and UM-Dearborn CASL
1995 William Alexander, LSA-English
1994 Barry Checkoway, Social Work and Urban Planning
1993 Josef M. Miller, Medicine
1992 Richard Bailey, LSA-English
Sharon Sutton, Architecture
1991 Beth Glover Reed, Social Work and LSA-Women's Studies