

To: Silvia Pedraza , Chair, SACUA

From: Rachel S. Goldman Chair, AAAC

Subject: Report on Activities of AAAC for 2021-2022

Name		School/College	Exp.
Tom Braun	Professor	Public Health/Biostatistics	2024
Andrew Chang	Professor	Medicine/Surgery	2024
Caitlin Finlayson	Assoc. Prof. (SACUA Liaison)	UM Dearborn	2022
Bruno Giordani	Professor	Medicine/Psychiatry	2024
Rachel Goldman	Professor (Chair)	CoE/Matls Science & Engin.	2023
Aubree Gordon	Assoc. Professor	Public Health/Epidemiology	2024
Rebekah Modrak	Professor	Stamps School of Art & Design	2022
John Pasquale	Clinical Assoc. Prof.	SMTD/Music	2023
Frank Pelosi	Clinical Assoc. Prof.	Medicine/Internal Medicine	2024
Mark Rosentraub	Professor	Kinesiology	2023
William Schultz	Professor	CoE/Mech Engin.	2022
Priti Shah	Professor	LSA/Psychology & Information	2022
Chitra Subramaniar	Research Assoc. Prof.	Medicine/Surgery	2022
Sergio Villalobos	Professor	LSA/Romance Languages & Lit	2022

Meeting Dates:

10/1/2021, 10/29/2021, 1/11/2022, 2/8/2022, 4/5/2022

Charge for 2021-2022:

- 1. Provide feedback on policies and practices, including but not limited to the Sexual and Gender-Based Misconduct Umbrella Policy and related items, the development of a university culture and values statement, and issues related to professional standards for faculty, and the hiring, evaluation, and reappointment of administrators.
- 2. Consider ramifications of COVID-19 on research and instructional practices, and on tenure and promotion for faculty, including related response.
- 3. Provide feedback on areas of budget priority as appropriate.
- 4. Provide input on anti-racism initiatives on campus.

Topics Discussed 2021-2022:

Equity, Civil Rights, and Title IX Office (ECRT)
Umbrella policy on sexual and gender-based misconduct
Individuals with Reporting Responsibilities (IROs)
SACUA Code of Conduct
Faculty Senate Motion #3 (from 10/4/2021): Methods of Instruction
Anti-Retaliation Policy

Culture Change Journey
Long-Term Planning: Undergraduate Enrollment Caps
BIPOC Faculty Retention
University Long Term COVID Strategy
Supporting Early Career Faculty Impacted by COVID
Grading Trends

Visitors to Committee 2021-2022:

Patricia Petrowski, Associate VP & Deputy General Counsel Tami Strickman, Exec. Director, ECRT Office
Tim Wood, Senior Director, U Human Resources
Gloria Hage, Assoc General Counsel
Patricia Hurn, Dean, School of Nursing
Sonya Jacobs, Chief Org Learning Officer
Jennifer Linderman, Prof. Chem Engin. & Director, ADVANCE
Isis Settles, Prof. Psychology & Assoc. Director, ADVANCE