Attachment A

The University Senate respectfully requests the Board of Regents to revise the following sections of its bylaws.

Sec. 4.01. The University Senate

The University Senate shall consist of all members of the <u>tenured or tenure-track</u> professorial staff, the executive officers of the University, the deans of the schools and colleges, such members of the research, <u>clinical</u>, <u>archival</u>, <u>curatorial</u>, and <u>librarian</u> <u>library</u> staff as may be designated in accordance with standards and procedures approved by the Senate Assembly, and such other major officers as may be designated by the Board of Regents from time to time. The chair of the assembly shall preside at meetings of the University Senate. In the absence of the chair, the vice chair of the assembly shall preside. The senate is authorized to consider any subject pertaining to the interests of the University, and to make recommendations to the Board of Regents in regard thereto. Decisions of the University Senate with respect to matters within its jurisdiction shall constitute the binding action of the University faculties. Jurisdiction over academic policies shall reside in the faculties of the various schools and colleges, but insofar as actions by the several faculties affect University policy as a whole, or schools and colleges other than the one in which they originate, they shall be brought before the University Senate.

Sec. 4.03. Senate Assembly Composition

There shall be a Senate Assembly which shall consist of seventy four seventy-seven senate members apportioned among the various schools and colleges according to the number of senate members in each school or college. However, no Senate Assembly unit shall be apportioned more than 17 members. For the purposes of Senate Assembly apportionment, UM-Dearborn members shall constitute a "UM-Dearborn" unit; UM-Flint members shall constitute a "UM-Flint" unit; and all Librarian, Archivist, and Curator members from all campuses shall constitute a "Library" unit of the Senate Assembly. The assembly shall make a reapportionment every three years. The members of the assembly shall serve for terms of three years (or longer in accordance with Sec. 4.07) so adjusted that the terms of approximately one-third of the members shall expire each year. A member who has served one term will not immediately be eligible for re-election.

⁻

¹ Explanatory note: While most faculty do not view themselves as "staff," this "professorial staff" term is used throughout the Regents' Bylaws and is defined to "include professors, associate professors, and assistant professors" (Sec. 5.01). While adding "tenured or tenure-track" before "professorial staff" does not alter the historical understanding that, for the University Senate, this term is referring to the tenure-track faculty, this addition would provide useful, explicit clarity.