

Minutes: May 20, 2024 Circulated August 23, 2024 Approved August 26, 2024

## THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN

Senate Advisory Committee on University Affairs Monday, May 20th, 3:00pm The hybrid meeting was held in 1100 Ruthven

**In person attendance**: Chair Rebekah Modrak, Prof. Tom Braun, Prof. Derek Peterson, Prof. Soumya Rangarajan, FSO Director Luke McCarthy, Operations Lead Meaghan Blanchard, FSO Coordinator Eric Vandenberghe

Remote Attendance: Prof. Simon Cushing, Prof. Alex Yi, Secretary Deirdre Spencer

**Absent:** Vice Chair Heather O'Malley, Prof. Vilma Mesa, Prof. Melanie Tanielian

Guests: LEO President, Kirsten Herold, Regent, Ron Weiser

**Press**: Katie Kelton, *University Record*Edra Timmerman, *Michigan Daily* 

**3:00** – Call to Order and Minutes -- The minutes were approved by consent.

**3:05** – SACUA Chair Update -- The Chair asked if members were interested in serving on the Alcohol and Drug Biennial Committee, as well as the Advisory Board of Intercollegiate Athletics (ABIA).

The Chair and FSO Director visited the student encampment currently located in the Diag and met with the students there to hear their concerns.

An Ethical Investment Committee (EIC), chaired by Sarah Soderstrom, will be meeting this summer to develop recommendations regarding an improved process for incorporating ethical investment concerns raised by the U-M community. The Chair asked if any SACUA members were available and interested in participating during the summer. SACUA members Soumya Rangarajan and Vilma Mesa indicated their interest and were added to the EIC.

A salary study of tenure track faculty (not in the Medical School) that was commissioned by the Ann Arbor Provost's Office will continue being conducted over the summer. The Chair will share more information regarding that continuing salary study process as further developments become known.

With the conclusion of final edits to a SACUA statement regarding President Ono's



upcoming testimony to Congress (related to student activism on campus), SACUA will be voting after the meeting on whether to approve the statement.

- 3:10 -- Kirsten Herold, LEO EXECUTIVE SESSION
- **3:25** Faculty Awards EXECUTIVE SESSION

SACUA made the following awards selections:

- Regents' Award for Distinguished Public Service
  - Timothy E. Chupp, Professor of Physics, Department of Physics, College of Literature, Science & the Arts
  - Mary Jo Kietzman, Associate Professor of English, Department of Language & Communication, College of Arts, Sciences and Education, University of Michigan-Flint
- Distinguished Faculty Governance Award
  - SACUA narrowed the nominations to a group of finalists and agreed to performing an electronic vote on selecting the recipient between SACUA meetings.
- **4:10** Brainstorm on Faculty Engagement and Social Work / Connection The members discussed ways of promoting opportunities for faculty social engagement. The Chair would like to establish writing sessions, lightning talks, dinners ,and other events for faculty to get to know one another.
- **4:20** Pre-Guest Discussion SACUA discussed considerations related to ethical investments.
- **4:30** Regent Ron Wiser. EXECUTIVE SESSION
- **5:15** Matters Arising Congratulations to our colleagues, former SACUA Chair Allen Liu and the chairs of several Faculty Senate committees, including Mark Allison, who were awarded promotions.
- **5:30** Adjourn The meeting adjourned at 5:30.

## **ADDENDUM**

## **SACUA Actions**

Between meetings, SACUA has performed the following actions through electronic voting that should be included in the SACUA minutes:

- On April 30, 2024, SACUA nominated the following faculty to the Honorary Degree Committee:
  - Francine Dolins, Associate Professor of Psychology, Department of Behavioral Sciences, College of Arts, Sciences and Letters, The University of Michigan-Dearborn



- Pamela Pennock, Professor of History, Department of Social Sciences, College of Arts, Sciences and Letters, The University of Michigan-Dearborn
- Christina Aplin-Snider, Associate Professor of Nursing, School of Nursing, The University of Michigan-Flint
- Thomas Wrobel, Professor of Psychology, Department of Behavioral Sciences, College of Arts, Sciences and Education, The University of Michigan-Flint
- Pursuant to a vote on May 7, 2024 and a tiebreaking vote on May 10, 2024, SACUA nominated the following faculty to the Residency Appeals Committee:
  - David Potter, Francis W Kelsey Collegiate Professor of Greek and Roman History, Arthur F Thurnau Professor and Professor of Greek and Latin, Department of Classical Studies, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
  - Nina White, Assistant Research Scientist, Mathematics and Lecturer IV in Mathematics, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts

Respectfully submitted,

Deirdre D. Spencer Secretary

University of Michigan Bylaws of the Board of Regents, Sec. 5.02: Governing Bodies in Schools and Colleges

Sec. 4.01 The University Senate

"...[t]he Senate is authorized to consider any subject pertaining to the interests of the university, and to make recommendations to the Board of Regents in regard thereto. Decisions of the University Senate with respect to matters within its jurisdiction shall constitute the binding action of the university faculties. Jurisdiction over academic polices shall reside in the faculties of the various schools and colleges, but insofar as actions by the several faculties affect university policy as a whole, or schools and colleges other than the one in which they originate, they shall be brought before the University Senate."

Rules of the University Senate, the Senate Assembly and the Senate Advisory Committee on University Affairs:

Senate: "In all cases not covered by rules adopted by the Senate, the procedure in Robert's Rules of Order shall be followed."

Assembly: "The Assembly may adopt rules for the transaction of its business. In appropriate cases not covered by rules of the Assembly, the rules of the University Senate shall apply."

SACUA: "The committee may adopt rules for the transaction of its business."