University Librarian Achievement Award

Eligibility: Any individual at the University of Michigan who holds a Primary Faculty appointment as Librarian, Archivist, or Curator.

Award: The recipient will be awarded $1,500 to commemorate the honor to be conferred at the annual Faculty Awards occasion.

Selection Criteria: Exceptional distinction reflected in active and innovative career achievements in library, archival or curatorial services. This may include:

  • Developing specialized services for faculty and students, improving access to information,
  • Efficiently managing the library and archival resources (staff, space, funding, collections), or
  • Other activities reflecting a commitment to these professions.

Please submit nomination materials with the librarian awards nomination form. The deadline for the 2023 award cycle is May 9, 2023.

  • A statement of the nominee’s achievements in library, archival or curatorial activities. (Required)
  • A current curriculum vitae. (Required)
  • Internal letters of support from within the nominee’s appointment unit (U-M Library or other) (Required)
  • External letters of support from outside the nominee’s appointment unit (Required). NOTE: No fewer than 3 letters of support should be from external sources. The external letters of support may be from within or from outside the University.

Note: Nominations that are not selected will be eligible for three years and automatically included in the pool of candidates for the next two award cycles.

Judy Smith - 2022 Award Recipient

Informationist, A. Alfred Taubman Health Sciences Library

Smith is a highly respected informationist in the Research and Informatics Unit of the A. Alfred Taubman Health Sciences Library. A valued member of the U-M Library community, Smith has consistently sought new opportunities for engagement and partnership and has raised the profile and prestige of THL. At THL, Smith assumed leadership of a working group to measure the impact of THL’s work on patient and population care. She is also widely recognized for establishing in 2012 a new library space at the North Campus Research Complex called MLibrary@NCRC. Smith’s vision described a new model of library service, grounded in deep understanding of the unique challenges and opportunities posed by the interdisciplinary and collaborative research enterprise at NCRC. She coordinates all aspects of the operations and actively promotes the new library to NCRC administration, faculty, staff and students. A U-M faculty member since 2010, Smith has served as a formal mentor to library colleagues and students at the School of Information. She currently chairs the Medical Library Association’s Public Health/Health Administration Caucus.

The 2022 awardee information (above) was provided by the Office of University Development, as published in a University Record article.

Previous University Librarian Achievement Award Receipients

2022 — Judy Smith, University Library, Health Sciences

2021 — Charles Ransom, University Library, Multicultural and American Culture Studies

2020 — Mark Paul Mac Eachern, University Library, Health Sciences

2019 — Pam MacKintosh, University Library

2018 — Philip A. Hallman, University Library, Arts and Humanities

2017 — Marisa Conte, University Library, Health Sciences

2016 — Robert Fraser, UM-Dearborn, Mardigian Library.

2015 — Jane Blumenthal, Taubman Health Sciences Library

2014 — Peggie Daub, University Library

2013 — Laurie A. Alexander, Associate University Librarian for Learning and Teaching

2012 — Nerea Llamas, Library Research – International Studies

2011 — Scott Dennis, Library Research – Arts and Humanities

2010 — Doreen Bradley, LSA -University Library and Adjunct Lecturer in Curriculum Support

2009 — Timothy Richards, UM Dearborn, Mardigian Library

2008 — Traianos Gagos, University Library

2007 — Grace York, University Library

2005 — Rebecca Dunkle, University Library

2004 — Barbara MacAdam, University Library

2003 — Jean Loup, University Library