Distinguished Faculty Governance Award

Faculty members who consistently place University-wide interests on the same level as their personal career and departmental interests represent a scarce resource that all faculty members treasure. Their concern with the general welfare protects and nourishes our individual welfare. The kinds of corporate activities these University citizens take on give us a secure sense of collective conscience. Faculty governance is the arena in which these citizens serve, and it is faculty government through the Senate Advisory Committee on University Affairs that recognize their accomplishments with this award.

The Distinguished Faculty Governance Award of $1,500 was established by SACUA in 1986 and is funded by the Alumni Association. The criterion for the award is distinguished service to faculty governance over several years with an emphasis on university-wide service

Current SACUA members are ineligible, as are those members from the immediate past year. All members of the University Senate (assistant, associate, and full professors, research scientists, and librarians who are Senate Members) are eligible.

Please send nomination materials to the    Note: Due to COVID-19 we are extending the deadline for nominations until June 1, 2020. UPDATE: Faculty awards will still be awarded this year, but they will not include a monetary award.

  • A nomination letter outlining the faculty members’ work, participation, and contributions for Central Faculty Governance. (Required)
  • Nominee’s CV (Required)
  • Additional supporting statements (optional)

Note: Nominations that are not selected will be eligible for three years.

If you have any questions about the award or the nomination process, please contact the Faculty Senate Office at 764-0303. Thank you for your participation.​

Deborah Goldberg - 2019 Recipient

Deborah Goldberg - 2019 Recipient

Arthur F. Thurnau Professor Emerita Margaret B. Davis Distinguished University Professor Emerita of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

“Professor Goldberg has contributed magnificently to our university over the past 35 years as a world-class, award-winning ecologist, as a visionary educator, and as the trail-blazing founding chair of our department,” wrote Diarmaid Ó Foighil in his letter of nomination.

Previous Distinguished Faculty Governance Award Recipients

2018 — Bruce Maxim, UM Dearborn, College of Engineering and Computer Science

2017 — Scott Masten, Ross School of Business

2016 — Rich Friedman, Law School

2015 — Karen Staller, School of Social Work

2014 — Keith Riles, LSA Physics

2013 — Bruno Giordani, LSA Psychology

2012 — Michael Thouless, Engineering

2011 — David Potter, Classical Studies, LSA

2011 — Robert Axelrod, Public Policy and LSA-Political Science

2010 — Bruce Frier, Law & LSA

2010 — Stanley Berent, Medicine

2008 — Semyon Meerkov, Engineering

2007 — Fred Askari, Medicine

2007 — George Brewer, Medicine

2006 — William D. Ensminger, Medicine

2005 — Cynthia Luz Marcelo, Medicine

2004 — Louis G. D’Alecy, Medicine

2004 — William W. Schultz, Engineering

2003 — Charles B. Smith, Medicine

2002 — Alphonse R. Burdi, Medicine

2001 — Jackie Lawson, UM-Dearborn

2000 — Thomas Dunn, Chemistry, LSA (Emeritus)

1999 — John T. Lehman, Biology, LSA

1999 — Sheila Feld, Social Work

1998 — Thomas E. Moore, Biology, LSA

1997 — Beth Glover Reed, Social Work

1996 — Theodore J. St. Antoine, Law

1995 — Gayle D. Ness, Sociology, LSA

1994 — Peggie J. Hollingsworth, Emeritus

1993 — Donald R. Brown, Psychology, LSA

1992 — Claude A. Eggertsen, Education (Emeritus)

1991 — Daniel E. Moerman, Anthropology, UM-Dearborn

1990 — Wilbert J. McKeachie, Psychology, LSA

1990 — William C. Stebbins, Medicine

1989 — Donald R. Deskins, Jr., Sociology, LSA

1988 — Cecil Nesbitt, Mathematics, LSA

1987 — Ralph A. Loomis, English, LSA

1986 — Janice B. Lindberg, Nursing

1986 — Wilfred Kaplan, Mathematics, LSA