The Senate Advisory Committee on University Affairs (SACUA) is the executive arm of the University Senate and of the Senate Assembly. SACUA meets regularly throughout the academic year and consists of nine members elected by the Senate Assembly for three-year terms. On behalf of the University Senate faculty, SACUA advises and consults with the President, Provost, and other Executive Officers of the University on matters of policy that impacts the work-life of UM faculty.

The Chair of SACUA is also the Chair of the Senate Assembly. In addition to responsibility as leader of the faculty, the Chair of SACUA also meets regularly with the Executive Officers and serves as the faculty representative in their deliberations.

Other SACUA Roles:

  • SACUA coordinates the Unit Ombuds program (10-D in the faculty handbook)
  • SACUA appoints Faculty Grievance Monitors (FGM’s) for Grievances and works in conjunction with Academic HR in the grievance process. (more information found on our resource page)
  • SACUA is responsible for hearing faculty complaints or grievances that do not fall under the established grievance process (10-H faculty handbook). The SACUA Faculty Hearing Committee (FHC) is comprised of three SACUA members from each class.
  • Under the provisions of Regents’ Bylaw 5.09, SACUA, together with the Tenure, Promotions, and Professional Development Committee exercises certain designated responsibilities in cases of dismissal, demotion, or terminal appointment of tenured faculty members.
  • SACUA members provide additional leadership for faculty governance activities and serve as liaisons with various Senate Assembly committees.

University Committees (These committees have SACUA nominated or appointed Faculty Senate representatives)

Advisory Board on Intercollegiate Athletics
Honorary Degree Committee

The Honorary Degree Committee receives nominations and recommends recipients for honorary degrees. The dean of the Rackham Graduate School chairs the committee; faculty members representing the Ann Arbor, Dearborn, and Flint campuses, students and alumni are appointed by the Board of Regents on the recommendation of the president. The president and several executive officers serve ex-officio. The Honorary Degree Committee typically meets once in the fall and once in the spring to consider nominations and forward recommendations to the president and the Board of Regents. While nominations may be submitted at any time, deadlines for consideration at the fall and spring committee meetings will be posted on this site.

Military Officer Education Committee

The Military Officer Education Committee shall advise the president regarding curriculum, appointments, promotions, budgets, and the relationships between the Military Officer Education Programs and the schools and colleges of the university. The committee shall consist of four members of the University Senate, nominated by SACUA and appointed by the board, two university administrators nominated by the president and appointed by the board, two students, nominated by the Central Student Government and appointed by the board, and the commanding officers of the three military officer education programs, ex officio. The Senate and administrative members shall hold office for three years, with terms adjusted to ensure continuity. The student members shall hold office for one year.

Police Oversight Committee

The University of Michigan Police Department Oversight Committee is an oversight committee for the University of Michigan Police Department created under the authority of Act 120 of the Public Acts of 1990 of the State of Michigan. The function of the Committee is to comply with Act 120 and consider grievances by persons against police officers or the Police Department. The Committee may prepare and make recommendations concerning such grievances to the Executive Director, Division of Public Safety and Security, including recommendations for disciplinary measures against a police officer who was found responsible for misconduct in office.

Residency Appeal Committee

The Board of Regents has charged the Appeal Committee with reviewing decisions about eligibility for in-state tuition. The Appeal Committee is chaired by the Vice President and Secretary of the University and includes two other University administrators, a faculty member, and a student. The staff of the Residency Classification Office is not members of the Appeal Committee.

Advisory Committee for Recreational Sports (ACRS)

ACRS is a committee of students, faculty, staff, and retirees who provide feedback and guidance to Recreational Sports.  Formed through Athletics in the 1970s, the format for structuring ACRs mirrored the Board of Control for Intercollegiate Athletics. The committee makes recommendations to the Director and is chaired by a student each year.  Members are encouraged to represent and obtain feedback from the constituents they represent. Meetings occur monthly from September to April and subjects include renovation planning, policy recommendations, facility hours, fees, equipment selection, etc.

Library Council The Library Council is Regentally mandated for the purpose of advising the Dean “in the allocation of funds appropriated by the board for the University Library, in formulating the policies of the University Library, in developing the educational values thereof, and in cooperating with the several schools, colleges, and other units within the library” ( SACUA elects two members each year and the Dean appoints two faculty members, one graduate student, and one undergraduate student.