University Librarian Recognition Award

Eligibility: Any individual at the University of Michigan who holds a Primary Faculty appointment as Librarian, Archivist, or Curator, with no more than eight years’ practice in his or her profession.

Award: The recipient will be awarded $1,000 to commemorate the honor to be conferred at the annual Faculty Awards occasion.

Selection Criteria: Active and innovative early-career achievement in library, archival or curatorial services. This may include developing specialized services for faculty and students, improving access to information, or efficiently managing the library and archival resources (staff, space, funding, collections).

Please send nomination materials to the The deadline for the 2022 award cycle is May 1, 2022. Faculty awards will still be awarded this year, but the availability of a monetary award has not yet been determined.

  • A statement of the nominee’s achievements in library, archival or curatorial activities. (Required)
  • A current curriculum vitae. (Required)
  • Letters of support from internal (U-M Library) (Required) and
  • Letters of support external sources (Required) (U-M Campus; excluding U-M Library. NOTE: No fewer than 3 letters of support should be from external sources.

Note: Nominations that are not selected will be eligible for three years.

Liangyu Fu - 2020 Award Recipient

Liangyu Fu - 2020 Award Recipient

Liangyu has taken a leadership role in professional and research activities. She spearheaded a new initiative to introduce China studies specialists to new data sources and methodologies through the “Deep Dive” series. Now in its third year, the Deep Dive series has brought together a diverse group of scholars across the humanities, social sciences, and the premodern/modern China divide.

Previous University Librarian Recognition Award Recipients

2019 — Jungwon Yang, International Government Information and Public Policy Librarian

2017 — Jo Angela (Angie) Oehrli, Senior Associate Librarian, Learning and Teaching

2016 — Mara Blake, University Library

2015 — Marci Brandenburg, University Library – Health Sciences

2014 — Evyn Kropf, Senior Associate Librarian, Library Research – International Studies

2013 — Jamie Lausch Vander Broek, Associate Librarian, Library Research

2012 — Suzanne Chapman, University Library

2011 — Loyd Mbabu, University Library

2010 — Jean Song, University Library – Health Sciences

2009 — Jennifer Green, University Library

2008 — Donna Hayward, Associate Dean of Libraries and Librarian for Budget and Planning

2007 — Gupreet Rana, University Library

2006 — Annette Haines, University Library

2005 — Maria Bonn, University Library

2004 — Mary Rader, University Library

2003 — Susan Hollar, University Library