Central Faculty Governance provides the structure for shared governance at the University of Michigan. Through its three bodies, faculty are represented and contribute to a collective voice concerning institutional policies and other matters of University-wide concern. 

The University of Michigan’s Central Faculty Governance system is comprised of:


Senate Advisory Committee on University Affairs (SACUA) is the executive arm of the Central Faculty Governance system and coordinates and implements the actions of the University Senate and the Senate Assembly. View more information 

Senate Assembly

Senate Assembly consists of 77 elected faculty members from the Ann Arbor, Dearborn and Flint campuses, each serving a three-year term to represent the interests and concerns of faculty throughout the University of Michigan system. View more information 

Faculty Senate

Membership of the Faculty Senate consists of tenure track professorial faculty, research faculty, clinical professors, lecturers, librarians, archivists, curators, the executive officers of the university, and the dean of each school or college, and others designated by the Board of Regents from time to time. View more information 

We want to hear from you

Your input is important to us. If you have questions about Central Faculty Governance, about participating, or if you have questions or concerns about a specific topic, please contact us. The Faculty Senate Office will get back to you within twenty-four business hours.

Explore the features of Ledger Live, a secure platform for managing your digital assets with ease.