Distinguished Faculty Governance Award

Faculty members who consistently place University-wide interests on the same level as their personal career and departmental interests represent a scarce resource that all faculty members treasure. Their concern with the general welfare protects and nourishes our individual welfare. The kinds of corporate activities these University citizens take on give us a secure sense of collective conscience. Faculty governance is the arena in which these citizens serve, and it is faculty government through the Senate Advisory Committee on University Affairs that recognizes their accomplishments with this award.

The Distinguished Faculty Governance Award of $1,500 was established by SACUA in 1986 and is funded by the Alumni Association. The criterion for the award is distinguished service to faculty governance over several years with an emphasis on university-wide service

Current SACUA members are ineligible, as are those members from the immediate past year. All members of the University Senate (assistant, associate and full professors, research scientists, and librarians who are Senate Members) are eligible.

To assist SACUA in the selection of the award recipient please email submission to: facultysenateoffice@umich.edu

  • A short statement describing the nominee’s faculty governance involvement and details of any accomplishments related to that service.
  • Supporting statements (optional)
  • CV (optional)

If you have any questions about the award or the nomination process, please contact the Faculty Senate Office at 764-0303. Thank you for your participation.

The deadline for submission of the Awards Nomination is May 1, 2017.

Past Distinguished Faculty Governance Award Recipients

rdfrdman2016Rich Friedman, Law School
2015Karen Staller, School of Social Work
3515B_KeithRiles2014Keith Riles, LSA Physics
giordani2013Bruno Giordani, LSA Psychology
ThoulessPicture-20102012Michael Thouless, Engineering
DSP2011David Potter, Classical Studies, LSA
bwfrier2010Stanley Berent, Medicine
Bruce Frier, Law & LSA
smm2008Semyon Meerkov, Engineering
Askari_373,02007Fred Askari, Medicine
George Brewer, Medicine
2006William D. Ensminger, Medicine
2005Cynthia Luz Marcelo, Medicine
2004Louis G. D’Alecy, Medicine
William W. Schultz, Engineering
2003Charles B. Smith, Medicine
2002Alphonse R. Burdi, Medicine
2001Jackie Lawson, UM-Dearborn
Ron Lomax, Engineering
2000Thomas Dunn, Chemistry, LSA (Emeritus)[/
1999Sheila Feld, Social Work
John T. Lehman, Biology, LSA
1998Thomas E. Moore, Biology, LSA
1997Beth Glover Reed, Social Work
1996Theodore J. St. Antoine, Law
1995Gayle D. Ness, Sociology, LSA
1994Peggie J. Hollingsworth, Pharmacology
1993Donald R. Brown, Psychology, LSA
1992Claude A. Eggertsen, Education (Emeritus)[/
1991Daniel E. Moerman, Anthropology, UM-Dearborn
1990Wilbert J. McKeachie, Psychology, LSA
William C. Stebbins, Medicine
1989Donald R. Deskins, Jr., Sociology, LSA
1988Cecil Nesbitt, Mathematics, LSA
1987Ralph A. Loomis, English, LSA
1986Janice B. Lindberg, Nursing
Wilfred Kaplan, Mathematics, LSA